skip to Main Content
"IPL-turnering" i København med 10 hold spillet "i smug" 18

“IPL-turnering” i København med 10 hold spillet “i smug”

  • Skrevet af: Jørgen Jønsson

Der spilles meget cricket rundt omkring, som ikke kommer under DCF’s radar. Men at en turnering med 10 hold kan afvikles udenfor DCF’s søgelys er dog overraskende.

Arrangeret af den indiske “Denmark Telegul Association” er der  i T 20 formatet fortrinsvis i sommerferien afviklet 48 kampe.  Holdene har været sammensat ud fra IPL-systemet, hvor der sammensættes lige hold. Turneringen er blevet spillet i seks år.

Finalen foregik lørdag d.26. august på Svanholm Park. Præsidenten og arrangøren Armarnadh Potluri fortalte, at kampene fortrinsvis er afviklet på Gentofte Stadion, men der er nu optaget af fodbold, så derfor havde han fået lov til at afvikle finalen på Svanholm Park. Han forklarede, at hvis man ikke kan stille med 15 navne, kan man ikke få lov til at deltage i turneringen  med et hold.

D.v.s. at der er omkring 150 i København (og Korsør) bosatte indiske spillere. Vi genkendte nogen stykker fra Soranerne og Herlev, men alligevel er der formentlig 125, der ikke spiller normalt. Så vidt vi så var standarden absolut 3-4 division og vi så knap nok nogen “turister”.

Vi foreslog ham et formaliseret samarbejde med DCF i begge parters interesse og det lød Armanadh Potluri meget interesseret i. Så nu må vi håbe, at vores forsøg på at lege Kirsten Giftekniv bærer frugt.

Arrangørerne (Armadah Potluri t.v.) overrækker vinderholdets anfører pokalen


De to finalehold med vinderne i rødt t.v. og skiltet visende sejrscifrene

Vi har modtaget følgende fra Hr. Potluri:

When the whole of July is reserved for holidays with hardly any competative games of cricket in Denmark, the sports event manager of a Indian cultural association called Denmark Telgu Association (DTA) and the chariman of Herlev Etnisk Sportsforening came up with triangular series to fill the void six years back. Every year 1 new team joined the tournment making the total tally to 10 teams this year in 2017 with one team coming all the way from Korsør also participated by travelling 3 weekends to Copenhagen. Thanks to Soranerne, CCC and Svanholm CC for facilitating by providing their ground to play.

The DTA-tournment is a big success for various reasons like some of the higher Danish league players wanted to continue to have match practice so they donot get rusty and try out risky shots that they would not play in a more formal game by just playing to their strength while some others played parallely with ametures to motivate amatures can improve their technique by playing along side them. But when many good players from higher Danish league were concentrated in one or two teams, results started to become one-sided and the interest among amatures started to fade. Then the tournment think-tank was forced to adapted IPL (Indian Premier League) model where only few players from Danish Cricket’s higher league were allowed per team so that all teams have equal chance to win. A good reminder is, in one of the pervious years a team scored 331 runs in one innings of a T20 game by two upper league danish cricket players scoring century each against ameture bowling.

This year 10 teams participated and initially played round robin group games followed by decider semi-finals and finals was played. ‘Team-ABCD’ won the Trophy lead by Santhosh Singam held on August 19th in Svanholm ground against team ‘Amaravti Avengers’ lead by Gautham. Team-ABCD were the under dogs in the begining of the tournment as they were members of ‘Active Badminton Club Denmark’ who mostly play indoor Badminton in Winter and play out-door Cricket in summer.

On the final game, ABCD bowled first and kept putting presure on the oponents by taking wickets at regular interval and allowing to score 171 for all-out with their 10th wicket falling of the last ball last-ball of the 20th over. Omi Shukla took 5 wickets while Ronaq took 3. The chase didnot go well with ABCD when the previous matches reliable openers fell cheap. Vasu and Vikarm made 3rd wicket partnership of 120 runs in par with the asking run-rate which was around 8.5 runs from the first over. Vikram, one of the best wicket keeper of the tournment scored a brilliant 73 which included 7 fours and 5 sixes. The tip of the day came  from an experienced player Rahul during the innings break who said ‘approach this high chasing score of 171 in the manner you would chase a 130 score game considering that we were playing in the smaller ground of Svanholm CC with fast out field.’ The team-ABCD won convinsingly without 6 wickets and 2 overs to spare

List of 10 team names participated in July 2017:

Bengalies In Denmark
Deccan Chargers
Sai Royal Chalangers
Værebroparken Cricket Club
Amaravathi Avengers

Team-ABCD Winners playing 15 inclusive of reserve players :  Omi Shukla, Vinay, Vikram Chhetry, Vasu Gowda, Rafia, Santhosh (C), Sagar, Bala Reddy, Basil Uttpu, Ronaq Taneja, Ashiq, Akul Balaji, Rahul Vig and Shankar.

Vasu H Lingegowda
Herlev Etnisk Sportsforening
Phone # 26502675″


Back To Top